La littératie financière pour tous
L’argent du petit cochon Peter

NOUVEAU JEU CANADIEN L’argent du petit cochon Peter
Apprendre des notions d’argent tout en s’amusant avec l’aide du petit cochon Peter! Grâce à ce jeu éducatif interactif, les enfants s’exercent à reconnaître, compter et économiser de l’argent tout en apprenant des faits amusants sur la devise canadienne.
Jouer

Voyez le Sommet surla littératie financière de 2014

Voyez le Sommet surla littératie financière de 2014
Regardez la webémission surle Sommet portant sur les besoins en littératie financière des personnes qui n’ont pasou ont peu accès aux services bancaires.
Voir la webémission

Soins personnels et soins professionnels

Il peut être très difficile de faire un choix entre les soins personnels et les soins professionnels. Le temps et la responsabilité liés au fait de fournir vous-même les soins peuvent être énormes. Toutefois, la familiarité, le confort et l'interaction personnelle avec une personne proche peuvent être inestimable pour une personne à charge âgée. Les soins professionnels fournissent un service beaucoup plus complet et n'exigent pas de vous que vous abandonniez une aussi grande part de votre vie. Toutefois, les soins professionnels sont coûteux et n'offrent pas la même familiarité et la même confiance entre le patient et l'aidant que les soins personnels.

Gestionnaire de soins

A case manager can help you make decisions concerning what type of care is right for your financial, emotional and medical situation. The case manager is a referral service that, for an hourly fee, will help you develop a care plan. They can also manage the financial affairs of elder care, paying medical bills and insurance premiums, filing tax returns and other financial organization.

Deciding between personal care and professional care can be very difficult. The time and responsibility involved with providing care yourself can be overwhelming.

The familiarity, comfort and personal interaction with someone close can be invaluable for an aging dependent. Professional care provides much more comprehensive service and won't require you to give up as much of your own life - but it’s costly and doesn't offer the same familiarity and trust between patient and caregiver as personal care does.

Les soins personnels

ISi la personne dont vous prenez soin est en assez bonne santé et se sentira plus à l’aise à domicile, les soins personnels peuvent être l’option à privilégier. Presque toutes les collectivités du Canada ont accès à des services de soins à domicile par le biais des services de santé locaux ou provinciaux. Ces programmes peuvent avoir divers noms, mais la plupart des professionnels de la santé emploient l’expression « soins à domicile ». Les programmes de soins à domicile offrent des services infirmiers à domicile, de l’aide familiale et des fournitures de soins à domicile sans frais ainsi que d’autres services. Dans les petites collectivités qui n’ont pas accès à des services de soins à domicile, les résidents peuvent obtenir de l’aide auprès d’une infirmière ou d’un médecin de leur région. Communiquez avec le ministère de la Santé de votre province ou de votre territoire ou avec l’Association canadienne de soins et de services à domicile, si vous ne trouvez rien localement.

De nombreux programmes et services sont offerts aux personnes qui choisissent les soins personnels. Ils sont fournis par tout un éventail de ressources, dont des agences gouvernementales, des municipalités, des foyers pour personnes âgées, des groupes sans but lucratif et des organismes à but lucratif. Certains des services qu’ils offrent comprennent : des soins infirmiers personnels, de la physiothérapie, de l’ergothérapie, de l’orthophonie, des programmes de jour, de la consultation, le soin des pieds, des visites amicales, des transports, de l’aide familiale, des services ménagers et des repas livrés à domicile.

Les soins professionnels

Il existe plusieurs options offertes aux aînés du Canada. Chacune fournit différents niveaux d’hébergement, de soins et de soutien. L’option qui vous convient dépendra de l’évaluation de vos besoins et de vos préférences.

  • Les centres de vie autonome Les centres de vie autonome ou de soutien à la vie autonome - en général, des immeubles à appartements - comportent les avantages de la vie autonome et de l'accès au type de services de soutien et de commodités que fournissent habituellement les résidences pour retraités qui offrent des services complets.

  • Les résidences pour retraités Les résidences pour retraités sont une bonne option pour les aînés qui ne peuvent plus gérer toutes leurs activités quotidiennes. Elles varient grandement quant aux services de soins et de soutien offerts - et aussi en termes de prix. La plupart des résidences pour retraités appartiennent et sont gérées par le secteur privé et ne reçoivent aucun financement du gouvernement.

  • Les centres d’hébergement Entre les soins à domicile et le centre de soins infirmiers, le centre d’hébergement permet à ses résidents de vivre dans leurs quartiers privés, tout en fournissant l’entretien et le nettoyage du logement ainsi que des repas en groupe. Dans un centre d’hébergement, chaque résident a sa propre chambre. Le personnel s’occupe des résidents et s’assure qu’ils obtiennent les soins dont ils ont besoin.

  • La résidence-services Il s’agit d’une combinaison spéciale de services d’hébergement et de soutien personnalisé ainsi que de soins de santé, conçue pour répondre aux besoins des aînés qui ne peuvent accomplir seuls certaines activités de la vie quotidienne, comme prendre un bain, s’habiller, manger et surveiller la médication.

  • oins de longue durée Les maisons de soins de longue durée sont conçues pour les personnes qui ne peuvent plus vivre de façon autonome dans leur maison et qui nécessitent des soins infirmiers et une supervision, 24 heures par jour, dans un environnement sécuritaire. En général, les maisons de soins de longue durée offrent un niveau plus élevé de soutien et de soins personnels que ceux habituellement offerts par les maisons pour retraités ou les logements offrant des services de soutien. Les maisons de soins de longue durée comprennent les maisons de soins infirmiers et les foyers pour personnes âgées. Ces derniers fonctionnent toujours sans but lucratif, tandis que les maisons de soins infirmiers peuvent être à but lucratif. Seules les personnes qui sont admissibles peuvent devenir résidentes d’une maison de soins de longue durée. Il faut parfois quelques mois pour y obtenir une place et il n’est pas garanti que l’on vous installera dans l’établissement de votre choix.

  • Les soins palliatifs Les soins palliatifs fournissent des services à domicile ou dans un environnement semblable à des personnes qui ont une maladie mettant leur vie en danger ou en phase terminale. En général, ces soins sont administrés par un éventail de professionnels et de bénévoles, y compris des médecins, des infirmières, des thérapeutes et des membres du clergé. La plupart des fournisseurs de soins palliatifs sont des organismes caritatifs, sans but lucratif, qui procurent ces services sans frais aux résidents. Pour connaître les organismes de soins palliatifs de votre région, consultez l’annuaire téléphonique ou communiquez avec l’Association canadienne de soins palliatifs (www.cpca.net; 1-800-668-2785).

Un engagement constant

Lorsqu’on a un parent ou un ami qui vit dans une maison de soins infirmiers, il est très important de continuer à s’intéresser à sa vie et y prendre part. Rendez-lui visite fréquemment. Apprenez à connaître les aidants réguliers. Soyez attentif aux changements de comportement, d’habitudes ou d’humeur. Si vous pensez qu’il y a un problème, parlez au superviseur ou au directeur du centre de soins infirmiers. Conservez un registre de tous les problèmes auxquels vous faites face et de toutes les mesures prises pour les résoudre.

Financial Literacy for Everyone
Follow Us
FacebookTwitter
free materials

Follow Us On Twitter
Looking for financial tips and news from Practical Money Skills Canada?
Follow Us Now

free materials

Free Lesson Plans
Give your students a deeper understanding of money management with curriculum offered by Choices & Decisions: Taking charge of your financial life™.
Learn More

Personal vs. Professional

The choice between personal care and professional care can be very difficult. The time and responsibility involved with providing care yourself can be overwhelming. But the familiarity, comfort and personal interaction with someone close can be invaluable for an aging dependent. Professional care provides much more comprehensive service and won't require you to give up as much of your life. But professional care is a large financial burden and doesn't offer the same familiarity and trust between patient and caregiver.

Case Manager

A case manager can help you make decisions concerning what type of care is right for your financial, emotional and medical situation. The case manager is a referral service that, for an hourly fee, will help you develop a care plan. They can also manage the financial affairs of elder care, paying medical bills and insurance premiums, filing tax returns and other financial organization.

Deciding between personal care and professional care can be very difficult. The time and responsibility involved with providing care yourself can be overwhelming.

The familiarity, comfort and personal interaction with someone close can be invaluable for an aging dependent. Professional care provides much more comprehensive service and won't require you to give up as much of your own life - but it’s costly and doesn't offer the same familiarity and trust between patient and caregiver as personal care does.

Personal Care

If the person in your care is in fairly good health and would feel more comfortable at home, personal care may be the right option for you. Almost all communities in Canada have access to home-care services through local or provincial health boards or ministries. These programs may have various names, but most health-care professionals still use the term "home care." Home-care programs offer home nursing, homemakers and home-care supplies free of charge plus other services. In small communities where there is no access to home-care services, residents may find help through a local physician and/or nurses. Contact your provincial or territorial health ministry or the Canadian Home Care Association if you cannot find anything locally.

Many different programs and services are available for people who choose the personal-care option. They are provided by a range of sources, including government agencies, municipalities, homes for the aged, not-for-profit groups and for-profit organizations. Some of the services they offer include: personal nursing care, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, speech therapy, day programs, counselling, foot care, friendly visiting, transportation, homemaking, home maintenance and meal delivery.

Professional Care

There are several housing and care options — each providing different levels of accommodation, care and support — available to Canada's seniors. The one that's right for you will depend upon an assessment of your needs and your preferences.

  • Independent Living Options Independent/supportive living options — usually in apartment buildings — provide both the advantages of living independently and the access to the kind of supportive services and amenities that are typically provided in full-service retirement residences.

  • Retirement Residences Retirement residences are a good choice for seniors who can no longer manage all their day-to-day activities themselves. They vary widely in terms of care and supportive services available — and also in terms of their fees. Most retirement residences are privately owned and operated, and don't receive any government funding.

  • Congregate Care Housing Between in-home care and a nursing home, congregate care housing allows residents to live in their own private quarters while providing home maintenance and cleaning as well as group meals. In a congregate care setting, each resident has their own room. There is a staff to look after residents and make sure they are getting the care they need.

  • Assisted Living Facilities Assisted living facilities are a special combination of housing, personalized supportive services and health care designed to meet the needs of seniors who need help with activities of day-to-day life, such as bathing, dressing, eating and monitoring medications.

  • Long-Term Care Long-term care facilities are designed for people who are no longer able to live independently in their own homes and who require the availability of 24-hour nursing care and supervision within a secure setting. In general, long-term-care facilities offer higher levels of personal care and support than those typically offered by either retirement homes or supportive housing. Long-term-care homes include nursing homes and homes for the elderly. The latter always operate on a not-for-profit basis; some examples of the former are for-profit organizations. Only those individuals who qualify can become long-term-care-home residents. It sometimes takes a few months to get placed in a home, and even then, you are not guaranteed that you'll get the particular facility you want.

  • Hospice Care Hospice care provides services at home or in a home-like setting to people with life-threatening and terminal illnesses. Care is usually provided by a range of professionals and volunteers including doctors, nurses, therapists and clergy. Most hospice-care providers are charitable, not-profit groups that provide the services at no cost to the resident. To locate hospice or palliative care groups in your community, check your telephone book or contact the Canadian Hospice Palliative Care Association (www.chpca.net; 1-800-668-2785).

Not A One-Time Decision

The most important thing to remember if you have a relative or friend living in a nursing home is to stay interested and involved in his/her life. Visit frequently. Get to know the regular caregivers. Be attentive to changes in behaviour, habits or mood. If you think there may be a problem, talk to a supervisor or facility director. Keep a journal of any problems you encounter and the steps taken to solve the problems.

Email to a friend

Your Name:
Your Email:
Recipient's Email:
Message: